August 08, 2017

2017 Bundestag parliamentary election

The German Bundestag parliamentary election will take place on September 24, 2017. In the run-up to the elections, the Bavarian Industry Association (vbw) has analyzed the party programs of the CDU/CSU (conservatives), SPD (social democrats), Alliance 90 / The Greens, and the FDP (liberal party) from the perspective of their effects on the economy. Thus, vbw is focusing on the parties that have the best prospects of participating in the government from 2017 to 2021 – according to current polls. Important key issues with major effects on the competitiveness of our companies are labor law, tax policies, energy policies, and climate protection.

Labor law

In the area of employment, the SPD and the Green Party will seek further regulation limiting the companies’ leeway while we require greater flexibility in areas such as working hours.

Tax policies

In tax policies, the decisive question is whether there will be new taxes on non-income values such as a wealth tax or an increase of the legacy tax. Only CDU/CSU and FDP are rejecting this step, with good reason. Further important aspects are tax incentives for research and development, as well as for investments such as in energy-related modernization in the real-estate sector. In this respect, all of the parties see room for improvements – to different extends.

Energy policy and climate protection

Energy policy and climate protection are key issues for our industry – in particular for the automobile industry. In this regard, all parties show productive approaches, especially FDP and – with some limitations – CDU/CSU and SPD. Among the Greens climate protection has priority over competitiveness of our businesses.

Informed voting

We have bundled all of the evaluations and a comparative overview on our “Clever Voting” microsite at On this site, we also refer to our numerous events at which we will describe and discuss the positions of the Bavarian industry up to the election.


Christine Völzow

Büroleiterin des Präsidenten und des Hauptgeschäftsführers

Christine Völzow